Over time, major federalists, including Madison, agreed to draft a rights bill if the Constitution was passed, helping to stave off the threat of a second convention. Madison led the fight that led to the first ten amendments, earning him the name “Father of the Bill of Rights.” The Convention adopted other compromises, including one that essentially left slavery where it existed, continued the slave trade for 20 years and provided for the representation of slaves, each of which was designated as three-fifths of the free man. Delegates also drafted the Electoral College for the election of the president and adopted a much broader list of powers for Congress than the body that is held under the statutes of the Confederation. In a close vote on July 16, the Convention adopted the Compromise on Connecticut (also known as the Grand Compromise), as recommended by the Grand Commission. [107] On July 23, the Convention decided that each state should have two senators instead of three. She rejected a proposal by Luther Martin of Maryland to have senators from the same state cast a single joint vote, as was the case in the Congress of The Confederations. Martin felt it was necessary if the Senate represented the interests of the states. Instead, the convention gave senators individual voting rights. [108] This achieved the nationalist objective of preventing the governments of the federal states from having a direct say in The Congress` decision to legislate at the national level. [109] The final document was therefore a mixture of Madison`s initial “national” constitution and the desired “federal” constitution, which many delegates sought resonant. [110] As the agreement enters its second full month of deliberations, it was decided to refer the further discussion of the sensitive issue of the distribution of representatives to the national parliament to a committee composed of a delegate from each of the eleven states present at that date to the Convention. William Paterson of New Jersey, Robert Yates of New York, Luther Martin of Maryland, Gunning Bedford, Jr.

of Delaware, Oliver Ellsworth of Connecticut, Abraham Baldwin of Georgia, Elbridge Gerry of Massachusetts, George Mason of Virginia, William Davie of North Carolina, John Rutledge of South Carolina and Franklin Benjamin of Pennsylvania. [97] The composition of the committee has greatly favoured smaller states, as even large federal delegates have tended to be more moderate. [98] As he awaited the official start of Congress, Madison outlined his original proposal, known as the Virginia Plan, which reflected his views as a strong nationalist.